top of page

Idaho Commission on the Arts Fellowships 2019


Lonnie Hutson, Coho Salmon, pressed paper


September 17, 2018 - October 22, 2018


Main Gallery

1st floor


Since 1986, the Idaho Commission on the Arts has awarded Fellowships to artists producing exceptional work and demonstrating a deep commitment to artistic practice. Fellowships are a rare honor. They are offered on a rotation of disciplines: visual art, performing and media arts, and literature. A Fellowship recipient may receive three awards in a lifetime. Only three artists—a painter, a choreographer, and a poet—have achieved this distinction.

This exhibit shares the work of five artists receiving Fellowships and two receiving Honorable Mentions in 2018. The artists were chosen by a peer-review panel using an anonymous process and the panel recommendations were approved by ICA Commissioners in May 2017.

The Idaho Commission on the Arts is committed to sharing the work of Idaho artists and connecting all Idahoans to meaningful experiences with the arts. This eclectic group of artists exemplifies the many ways that excellence may be achieved and how art, as a category of human endeavor, expands to allow and encourage all that the imagination may offer.

Fellowship Recipients

Sarah Bird, Hailey
Pamela DeTuncq, Hailey
Lonnie Hutson, Deary
Anika Smulovitz, Boise
Nishiki Sugawara-Beda, Moscow

Honorable Mentions

Brian Hochstrat, Midvale

Anna Webb, Boise

Lianne Wappett, Moscow (not represented)

The Jurors:

Lucinda Barnes, Boise, Curator Emerita at the University of California, Berkeley Art Museum
Athena LaTocha, New York, painter
Michael Light, San Francisco, photographer


Pamela Detuncq, Part D

bottom of page